A windy bus ride to El Calafate

Another day in the Patagonian windswept land

We left El Chalten and continued our journey south to El Calafate.  It was an incredibly windy bus ride. All on pavement (thankfully) but the bus was swaying all over the place which was a bit nerve-racking. Dave and I sat in the front so we could look out the windshield and see what the driver sees.  We even saw some bike tourers!!  All of them looked like they were moving pretty slow (and likely using a lot of profanity) as they had an insanely strong headwind.

Struggling bike tourers

We got to El Calafate, settled into our hostel and went back out in search of, you guessed it, food. We have had a lot of pizza on this trip and in general the pizza has been awful. As Dave says, it is as if they cook the ingredients separate from each other and then assemble them at the end making it so nothing sticks together and the cheese has an awful rubbery texture. I had smelled a pizza place on our way from the bus station to the hostel and was convinced it would be good. I also convinced Dave that our next good pizza (we have had two so far) was just around the corner. Luckily, I was right!  The pizza was great and they had a whole wall of Argentinian license plates which reminded me of my dad since he collects old license plates.  I asked if I could buy them somewhere in town but they said “no”.

This ones for you dad!

We have spent a few days here in El Calafate and have enjoyed it despite its very strong touristy vibe. We even went to see a glacier but there will be more on that later as I have 200 photos to sort through…

The Best Medicine

British animal voiceovers, good stuff.