Zoobomb!

No, I’m not referring to a terrorist attack. Zoobomb is a weekly event that involves a train, a lot of mini-bikes, and Portland’s plethora of hills just outside of downtown. It usually results in no injuries – and if there are injuries, they most certainly are self-inflicted.

Every week, a group of people meets downtown, takes the Max (light rail) up to the zoo with their bikes (kiddie bikes are encouraged), hangs out until it’s good and dark, and then ‘bombs’ down Portland’s steep hills back to downtown, where they catch the next train and repeat until the Max stops running for the night.

My friend Julian and I did the Zoobomb last Sunday. We’d both always wanted to do it, and our schedules and the weather cooperated such that we were able to pull it off. I borrowed my nephew 8-year old Leo’s bike (thanks, Leo!), modified it a bit to make it rideable for a 41-year old 6′-0″ dude, and showed up at the Zoobomb pile downtown to meet the other riders and head up.

Me at the downtown Zoobomb pile, ready to ride on Leo's bike. Yes, the city of Portland supports Zoobomb, and even gave them a sculpture / place to store the bikes. Ah, Portland ...

Julian at the pile, in stealth 'Zoobomb' mode

I’d say there were about 80 riders on Sunday’s Zoobomb, a huge turnout I thought. Julian and I each did one run down, and then headed home. Because we’re old, and had to work the next day. It would’ve been fun to stay out all night Zoobombing, but I must say that riding down Portland’s steep west hills on a kid’s Schwinn with nothing more than a rear coaster brake was pretty stressful. I didn’t crash, and Leo’s bike held up fine, but it was still a challenge.

Panda-monium at the start of the Zoobomb, high up in the hills west of Portland

Fully lit for the descent. This was taken at the bottom - notice the look of relief on my face? "Yes! The coaster brake held up!"

I found this video online that pretty much sums up the experience:

One Response

  1. oh my gosh – Dave you are CRAZY!!!!! (in a totally good way!) That looks like an absolute riot? How old will MiMo have to be before you take them along in a sidecar? =)

Leave a comment